The Drugs

When someone walks into a doctor’s office in crisis,  one of a few things happen.  First of all, in my experience,  it is taken seriously. Secondly,  in this type of case, medications will be prescribed.

The way I understand it, lithium tends to be prescribed most often as a line of defense against the fluctuations of a bipolar brain. The doctor I saw was instead inclined to prescribe lamotrigine, a drug initially used in the treatment of epilepsy, but which also regulates the mood of people with bipolar. The reasons for this aren’t really known,  but it is an approved bipolar treatment.  And the first one approved for the treatment of depressive and manic episodes after 30 years of a lithium dominated market.

Interesting stuff.

It’s week three of lamotrigine for me. The side effects have been in and out. One consistent thing is that I have zero appetite. I sit down with food but I just can’t seem to find it in me to eat it. My sleep patterns are messy but they always were. I have had a couple of killer headaches, some dizzy spells, and swollen glands/sore throat.

I’m paying attention to the new feelings as they come.  As for benefits?  The mood stabilization takes 6 to 8 weeks to really take effect.

I’ll be waiting.

2 thoughts on “The Drugs

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

