The Schedule

For years and years and years I’ve been working the opposite direction of the human race. I prefer to seep during the day and once it’s dark it’s time to shine.

I know that part of getting better is developing a predictable routine. And I intend to do so but… I haven’t quite managed yet.

I went out with a friend the night before last. We got home by 10pm and I was asleep by midnight. And I slept all night. I didn’t get up. I didn’t wander. I didn’t eat. I didn’t drive.

I call that a win.

But even so, I could not get up yesterday. I could not function. I didn’t get my kid off to school. I had someone else do it.

Even text messaging was difficult to manage. I would fall asleep holding my phone. I couldn’t stay awake.

I slept until 1pm. I finally got up and over ate until I vomited. I fell asleep on the couch.

I got someone else to pick her up. I slept. At some point I moved back to bed. I slept.

 

Eventually the darkness rolled in and I was awake again.

This is not normal behavior.  I think I slept like twenty hours yesterday. I could have probably slept more.

But I didn’t. I lay in bed and thought about the day ahead of me at work. I wondered if I got up early (230am for a 6am shift) if I might get more done during my shift. I hauled myself out of bed to have some orange juice. I had a shower.

It seemed like a good idea at the time.

My significant other got mad. I hate that. I’m torn between understanding how tough this is on him, and constantly feeling like what I’m doing is working for me.

The truth, I think, is that what I’m doing is working for no one. So now my day has started off on a foot where I feel shitty and unreliable.

So much of the time I feel shitty and unreliable.  And so much of the time he just puts up with me.

Someone please assure me that the sleep thing will even out with the medication.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

