The Gratitude

YouI have never been grateful. Not really. Not in the ways I should have been.

I had an epiphany a few weeks ago. It’s taken me this long to sort out the words to explain what I’m feeling.

I have a real history with negative self talk, but we’re on a break right now. Today I intend to express myself without being hypercritical of who I am and what I have done in the past.

The facts….

I’m loved. I’m wanted. My family is incredible. I’m supported and cared for and downright spoiled.

For real.

The evidence supports this.

So why have I let myself create a narrative where only one person mattered?

I let my father take from me the time I’ve had to be loved by so many others. I am unimpressed with myself. I’ve wasted so much energy and I’ve overlooked those who have always been there.

My mother. My grandparents. My close friends. I’ve let the time I’ve had with them slip away.

This hit me like a sack of bricks. My god. Did I really allow myself to take for granted everyone who loves me?

It’s time for a conscious effort in gratitude. Stat.

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

